End of 2nd Grade Math

I’m calling the end of 2nd grade today.  I do not like how Calvert is approaching division right now, so we are finishing a bit earlier than expected.  Really we are only a few days early, but I was trying to make this date work anyway just to finish at the end of the week.  I’m going to have to pick up some Kumon workbooks soon.  I’d like to review addition/subtraction more, and of course multiplication and see if Kumon approaches division in a different way.  So we’ll probably have a bit of break before 3rd grade Calvert math. I do want to spend some time this weekend loooking at where Calvert Math picks up at.

I really don’t feel like Calvert spent enough time on multiplication, and then thrust us straight into division.  Also their method for teaching division while the opposite of how they do multiplication, did not make any sense to me.  I found the multiplication method only slightly less confusing.  I understand the approach of using pictures I just don’t think it was working as well for us.

Leave a Reply

