Updates

I have so much I want to write about now, so I think I’ll break it down by topic,

Food/shopping

I’m very excited about the coupons I have for this week, I have a great coupon from Target for household goods.  I’ll be able to stock up on a lot.  I’m also getting more into the groove of meal planning and I might just try out a new recipe this week.  I’m thinking about trying Giada’s Fettuccine Alfredo, I love Alfredo sauce, so it will be fun to try it.  I’m not sure yet, maybe not this week maybe next week.  I’m going to have to finish up some of my meal planning while in the grocery store but I’m feeling confident.

School

We didn’t do much school this week because we all go sick.  So it was just kind of a bust but now that we are feeling better I’m going to be dropping us right back into things. We’ve jumped around a bit with history since Disney World, the Kinsey Collection exhibit they had there really got Mini Riceball interested in African American History, so we’ve taken a bit of a break from Ancient history to come forward a bit in time. We had a great field trip last Sunday to the Reginald F Lewis Museum to see the Kinsey Collection exhibit there.  Mini Riceball was very excited to see the exhibit and get the book.  We had seen the book in Disney World but it was very heavy and we were hoping to order it when we got home.  Looking for the book is how we found out about the exhibit touring, and being on display locally.  The Reginald F Lewis Museum was very nice, and especially informative.  The museum focus on Maryland African American History, though the Kinsey collection itself is more broad.  I did related the school house exhibit the book we read about Ruby Bridges. Taking this deviation in study has been interesting for me too.  I didn’t know anything specially about Ruby Bridges and I really enjoyed reading the book with Mini Riceball. We were both impressed to learn that she grew up and created the Ruby Bridges Foundation which we are looking to learn more about.  Mini Riceball was also impressed to see a real photo of the woman Ruby Bridges has become.  I think it’s one thing to read about these people in stories they so easily become characters of the past; it’s really great to be able to see the person from the story.\

With science I still hope to do a project to round out our unit on space and we have a book to finish as well.  I am hoping it will warm up and we’ll be able to get out to look at the stars.  It’s just been so cold though and then it’s been snowing so much it’s not practical to go outside.  Though I may have mentioned it before, but I was reading about someone else using the same science book we do and they do the units in a different order.  I think we’ll try that so that we can cover space in the warmer months.

Knitting

My scarf has been advancing rather quickly now.  I still don’t think I’ll have it finished in time to wear it this season.  I’ll have it for next fall/winter though.  I should be able to finish and move on to another project before long.  Of course Amy Pond will probably be two companions ago by then.  Maybe Clara will start wearing some clever knits that I can create, or perhaps the next companion.

Video Games

I started playing Tomb Raider Definitive Edition, and I’m enjoying it again.  I read an interesting article, saying that the tone of the story shifts a bit if you look at as though Lara has feelings for Sam.  Which even so far with the dialog I can see it, and it’s interesting to play through this time looking at her not as a close friend but someone that perhaps she has unrequited feelings for.  Also playing through know Mathias is this time around, is extra interesting.  I forgot you saw him so early on in the game.

Art

I have been slacking with my art, my knitting my be progressing but my drawing is stagnant.  I have recently had a bit more time to interact with my subject on a social level, and I think I’m partially reinvigorated to work on the drawing.  I’m not sure though.  I feel all full of zest and then it drops off very quickly.  I think I’ll finish up this drawing and then focus on sketching for while or maybe sketch while working on this drawing.  Do a bit of both.  I’m also thinking of moving this blog to my other account or moving my other blog to this one.  I might find out if I can link the two accounts.  It would make it easier to post to both.  I’m also thinking that maybe I don’t need to keep the brands separate.  I’ll have to see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

